Jammu & KashmirNorth India

UNESCO designated Srinagar as creative city

Cities of Gwalior, Kolkata and Indore have also applied for the status from UNESCO.

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) has given the city of Srinagar a designation of ‘Creative City. Srinagar is the sixth city in India to receive this designation. The cities of Varanasi, Jaipur, Mumbai, Hyderabad, and Chennai have been given the same designation by UNESCO.

Srinagar is now part of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network. Srinagar is the capital city of Jammu & Kashmir. There are 295 cities in the network of creative cities in the world. The government of India has taken many initiatives to make India a renowned tourist destination in the world. Recently, many projects have been introduced to promote tourism.

UNESCO studies the local Crafts, Media Arts, Folk Art, Film Design, Literature, Food and Music of the city to give the title of Creative City. There are three more cities in India that have applied for the designation from UNESCO. These popular cities of India are Kolkata, Gwalior, and Indore. These cities are being reviewed and will be given the designation once the review is over.

Following is the detailed report from ‘Indian Express’ reporting about the recent news of Srinagar being designated as a Creative City.


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button
Join WhatsApp group
Skip to content